U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin Announces Appointments to Senate Appropriations Subcommittees

Washington, DC – U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin has announced that she has been named to serve on five U.S. Senate Appropriations Subcommittees. The Senate Appropriations Committee, considered to be one of the most powerful on Capitol Hill, is responsible for deciding how the federal government spends money.

“I am proud to be named to these Senate Appropriations Subcommittees and I look forward to bringing our Wisconsin values to the national conversation about how we invest in moving our economy forward,” said Baldwin.  “Our economy in Wisconsin is lagging, so my top priority is working to build a strong Made in Wisconsin economy that creates economic growth and shared prosperity for our state. I will continue to focus on investing in job training and workforce readiness; making higher education more affordable;  strengthening our manufacturing economy; and growing small business start-ups by supporting innovation, science and research.”

Senator Baldwin will serve on the U.S. Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies; the Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies; the Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies; the Subcommittee on Military Construction, Veterans Affairs, and Related Agencies; and the Subcommittee on Homeland Security.

Senator Baldwin will continue serve on the U.S. Senate Budget Committee, the U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs (HSGAC), and the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP).

Her subcommittee assignments on HSGAC include serving as the ranking member of the Subcommittee on Federal Spending Oversight and Emergency Management and serving as a member of the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations. On the HELP Committee, she will serve on the Subcommittee on Primary Health and Retirement Security and the Subcommittee on Employment and Workplace Safety.