Skip to content

Support Grows for Senator Baldwin’s Legislation to Overturn the Trump Administration’s Expansion of Junk Insurance Plans

With 30 Senators needed to force a Senate vote, 44 Senators now cosponsor resolution of disapproval

Trump’s junk insurance plans don’t have to provide health care coverage for people with pre-existing conditions

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin’s new legislation to overturn the Trump administration’s expansion of “junk insurance” plans needs the support of 30 Senators to force a vote. Today, she announced 44 Senators have cosponsored her resolution of disapproval of the Trump administration’s final junk insurance plan rule.

“The Trump Administration is rewriting the rules on guaranteed health care protections that millions of Americans depend on. They are moving forward on an expansion of junk insurance plans that can deny coverage to people with pre-existing conditions and don’t have to cover essential services like prescription drugs, emergency room visits and maternity care,” said Senator Baldwin. “Anyone who says they support coverage for people with pre-existing conditions should support this resolution to overturn the Trump Administration’s expansion of junk insurance plans.”

Today, 14 additional Senators cosponsored Baldwin’s resolution to force a vote on overturning the expansion of junk insurance plans, including Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ed Markey (D-MA), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tina Smith (D-MN), Tom Udall (D-NM), Mark Warner (D-VA) and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA).

Last week, Senator Baldwin introduced the resolution with 30 cosponsors, including Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Christopher Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Kamala D. Harris (D-CA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), Doug Jones (D-AL), Angus King (I-ME), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Jon Tester (D-MT), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

Congressional Review Act (CRA) disapproval resolutions that obtain the support of 30 Senators on a discharge petition force a vote on the Senate floor. Senator Baldwin has the support needed to file a discharge petition and force a vote under the CRA on her resolution to overturn the Trump Administration’s expansion of junk insurance plans. A simple majority vote in the Senate would pass the resolution and send it to the House of Representatives.

Text of the resolution is available here.