Skip to content

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin Announces Federal Disaster Declaration for Flooding in Western Wisconsin

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin today announced a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) major disaster declaration by President Obama for ten western Wisconsin counties affected by the September flooding. This declaration will make federal funds available to repair damaged public infrastructure in Adams, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland and Vernon counties.

“Damage caused by heavy rains and flooding have left some communities wondering how they were going to pay for the repairs,” said Senator Baldwin. “This declaration will provide relief for communities and help ensure they receive the federal funding they need to rebuild.”

This declaration came after Senator Baldwin and members of the Wisconsin delegation sent a letter to President Obama requesting prompt federal support for the affected counties in western Wisconsin at the beginning of the month, and then another follow up letter last week requesting a major disaster declaration for western Wisconsin.

Senator Baldwin has also recently called on the U.S. Department of Transportation to make federal Emergency Relief funds available to help repair roads and bridges damaged by recent severe storms and flooding in western Wisconsin.‎