Skip to content

Baldwin Supports Introduction of Senate Resolution to Protect and Expand Social Security in the Face of Republican Attacks

The Resolution Would Affirm the Senate’s Commitment to Social Security; Senate Republicans’ Plan Would Strip Hard-Earned Benefits, Attempt to End the Program

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), joined her colleagues in introducing a resolution affirming the Senate’s commitment to protect and expand Social Security, so that future generations can continue to rely on its bedrock promise. This comes after several Republican members in the House and Senate have made proposals to undermine the retirement security Americans have earned.

“Wisconsinites work real hard and they pay into Social Security, so they should be able to count on the guaranteed benefits they have earned,” said Senator Baldwin. “Working families in Wisconsin shouldn’t have to worry about politicians in Washington breaking the promise of Social Security and putting it on the chopping block. Social Security is an earned benefit that Wisconsin families worked for, and I will always work to protect the economic security they have earned. Social Security is a promise that must be kept.”

The resolution was led by Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and was joined by Senators Ron Wyden (D-OR), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Ed Markey (D-MA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tina Smith (D-MN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM),  Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Gary Peters (D-MI), and Jeff Merkley (D-OR).

The text of the resolution is available here.