Skip to content

Baldwin, Colleagues Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Honor 13 American Heroes Killed in Afghanistan with Congressional Gold Medals

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin joined her colleagues today to introduce a bipartisan bill to award the 13 American servicemembers who lost their lives during the terrorist attacks in Kabul, Afghanistan on August 26th with Congressional Gold Medals.

“This legislation will honor the 13 brave servicemembers who died as heroes serving their country and working selflessly to save the lives of those fleeing imminent danger,” said Baldwin. “We should pass this bill immediately to honor their legacy and memorialize their heroism and sacrifice.”

Baldwin and her Senate colleagues are pushing for Congressional Gold Medals to be awarded to Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan W. Page, Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Navy Corpsman Maxton W. Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss.

Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Steve Daines (R-MT), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Rick Scott (R-FL), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Tim Kaine (D-VA), James Lankford (R-OK), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jim Risch (R-ID), Tina Smith (D-MN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Todd Young (R-IN), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Mike Crapo (R-ID), John Hoeven (R-ND), Alex Padilla (D-CA), John Barrasso (R-WY), John Thune (R-SD), Bernie Sanders (I-VT) and John Hickenlooper (D-CO) also joined Baldwin on the bill. 

Congresswoman Lisa McClain (R-MI) introduced companion legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives.