## <sup>117TH</sup> CONGRESS <sup>2D</sup> SESSION **S. RES.**

Congratulating the University of Wisconsin Badgers on winning the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Volleyball Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Ms. BALDWIN (for herself and Mr. JOHNSON) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on \_\_\_\_\_\_

## RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the University of Wisconsin Badgers on winning the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Volleyball Championship.
- Whereas, on December 18, 2021, the University of Wisconsin Badgers won the 2021 National Collegiate Athletic Association (referred to in this preamble as the "NCAA") Division I Women's Volleyball Championship and finished the season with an impressive record of 31 wins and 3 losses;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin women's volleyball team defeated the University of Nebraska Cornhuskers in a thrilling 5-set match to win the program's first ever national championship;

- Whereas the following players should be congratulated for their hard work and dedication in representing the University of Wisconsin with dignity: Izzy Ashburn, Lauren Barnes, Joslyn Boyer, Giorgia Civita, Jade Demps, Liz Gregorski, MJ Hammill, Danielle Hart, Sydney Hilley, Lauren Jardine, Grace Loberg, Anna MacDonald, Julia Orzol, Sydney Reed, Dana Rettke, Devyn Robinson, Anna Smrek, and Julia Wohlert;
- Whereas the Badgers were led by an outstanding coaching and support staff, including Kelly Sheffield, Brittany Dildine, Gary White, Jessica Williams, Annemarie Hickey, Mackenzie Long, Kristen Walker, Kevin Schultz, Katie Smith, Diane Nordstrom, and Bianca Miceli;
- Whereas the championship point was scored by senior middle blocker Dana Rettke, the 2021 National Player of the Year and the only 5-time American Volleyball Coaches Association (referred to in this preamble as the "AVCA") First-Team All-American in NCAA Volleyball history;
- Whereas freshman opposite hitter Anna Smrek was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA National Championship, while Dana Rettke and Sydney Hilley were also named to the NCAA National Championship All-Tournament Team;
- Whereas senior setter Sydney Hilley was also selected as the 2021 Senior CLASS Award recipient as the most outstanding senior student-athlete in Division I women's volleyball;
- Whereas Assistant Coach Brittany Dildine was named the AVCA Division I National Assistant Coach of the Year;
- Whereas the University of Wisconsin women's volleyball team—

(1) captured the 2021 Big Ten conference championship for the third consecutive season;

(2) featured 3 players who earned AVCA All-American honors at the end of the season, Dana Rettke, Sydney Hilley, and Lauren Barnes; and

(3) has had a history of players, past and present, who also represent the University of Wisconsin on the international stage;

- Whereas the players and staff persevered through the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic; and
- Whereas the Badger women's volleyball team has brought great pride and honor to the University of Wisconsin and its alumni, loyal fans, and the State of Wisconsin: Now, therefore, be it
  - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the University of Wisconsin
  3 Badgers on winning the 2021 National Collegiate
  4 Athletic Association Division I Women's Volleyball
  5 Championship;
- 6 (2) recognizes the achievements of the players,
  7 coaches, and staff who contributed to this champion8 ship season; and
- 9 (3) respectfully requests that the Secretary of
  10 the Senate prepare an official copy of this resolution
  11 for presentation to—
- 12 (A) the Chancellor of the University of13 Wisconsin, Rebecca Blank;

1	(B) the Athletic Director of the University
2	of Wisconsin, Chris McIntosh; and
3	(C) the Head Coach of the University of
4	Wisconsin volleyball team, Kelly Sheffield.